The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

First poppy

I went out with my friend K for the first time in TWO YEARS! Last time we met she was having some pretty rubbish dating experiences online. I'm pleased to say that since then, she's met a really great guy and is hoping to move in with him next year. Of course, I'd hate her to leave Stroud, but I can't wish her anything but happiness.

We went to a cafe that was shut (on a bank holiday!) and then on to another with a massive queue. They wouldn't let us sit inside, even though a large table was free. They told us that it was only for the use of large parties. Huh! Do they even know how exciting it is to sit indoors, anywhere, except in one's own home or workplace? We got takeaways and walked to the nearby Belvedere Mill, which has been converted to offices and is close to rh canal, and watched the world go by. I forgot to take any photos, but the millpond was thoroughly overgrown.

When K dropped me back, I noticed that our first red poppy was out in our front garden! Here it is with the sun's rays shining through the petals.

I then started packing for my 4-night trip to Wales. My brain felt exceedingly foggy, and the whole process took several hours. Why? Because of the brain fog; the fact that today is only the second day that anyone in Gloucestershire has had to dig out their summer clothes; and that I'm going to the wild west coast, so it's advisable to pack for four seasons.

That's done, and now it's time to relax and wonder if I've packed enough jumpers, as I sit here fanning myself. Early start tomorrow. See you on the other side!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.