The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Old Convent, Beeches Green

I've blipped this before,  in 2012 or thereabouts. I've been working in this neighbourhood ever since. I'd love to know what stood where the surgeries next door now stand. They are blocky 1960s low rise brick buildings, but there are mature trees in front of them.

The convent was once known as St Rose's convent, and educated Catholic girls. It was not the same as St Rose's special school, which was next door in the now-destroyed Badbrook House. The special school moved to the other side of the doctors' surgeries, the site of the former Stratford Hotel, in the 1950s. I worked at the special school from 2012 until recently.

The old Convent building became a therapy-rooms place. I shared a massage room there once, and found it spooky. I gather that some of the therapists have now left, even the diehards, so I don't know what goes on inside now. The Catholic church is next door, and is still very much a going concern. There is also a Catholic primary school on the same turf, so to speak. The doctors' surgeries are not faith-based.

I blipped the convent on the way home from the surgeries where I now work. I almost didn't get to leave my office, as I discovered on my way out that builders had erected a ladder right in front of my door. Note to self: leave work when the banging begins in earnest. I hope the builders are getting some new offices ready for us! I did ask them if they could knock a few extra windows in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.