The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Last Orders!

So boring, but representative of my day. At work I had to print off a few flyers, and I asked a colleague to do this, as we don't have a printer, let alone a colour one. She came in to my office to deliver them, but they were the wrong ones. As I was leaving, she told me she couldn't find the original of the right ones. As well, there's always tomorrow...

Then a friend texted me to say she had tried to order 30 pounds' worth of greetings cards from my trader website, helenascards.co.uk, but she hadn't succeeded. She asked me to try. I quickly grabbed a handful of cards from the basket in the reception area, where they've been on sale, in case I couldn't order any at home.

When I got home, I made up the bed for our visitors who arrive tomorrow; put out the bins; ate flapjacks; went to the website. Successfully ordered 32 cards for my friend, emailed her, then decided to order a few more for myself. They won't arrive any time soon, because there's been a rush, but st last I'll have some favourites in my stash 

It's been a long time, seven and a half years, that I've been selling cards. I gave up the market stall last autumn because my day job was more profitable, but for me one of the greatest, and most eccentric, parts of the work was doing home visits to old ladies, with a suitcase full of cards. Also the ten-minute card sales during the tea breaks at WEA classes! Well, the old ladies died, or developed awful illnesses,  the WEA classes went online, and the boom of lockdown gave way to a post-Covid slump. Sad times, indeed.

I will post a more interesting shot when the cards arrive. The grey, flat light of today has not been conducive to taking great shots. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.