The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Rock and Fountain

There used to be a drinking establishment on this site, with a quarry directly behind. The 'pub' served the quarry workers, slaked their thirst.

And now it's a dinky little cottage. Who'd have guessed it's history? This is another from my 'watering holes' walk. I did take a snap of some Marguerites today, but it ended up being blurry.

I went back to work after the BH weekend, and put my nose to the grindstone. Got a lot done. When I left at 5.3O, the sunshine had vanished. Just like that.

Walked home, had an ice cream anyway. Made flapjacks, because we've run out of Easter eggs and biscuits. Had supper. Remembered to do some Portuguese on Duolingo. It really is a very tiresome way to learn. Now I'm watching The Blackouts of '74: when Britain went dark. Of course I remember power cuts and petrol queues, but I had no understanding of the issues behind them. I recall being asked what I could do personally to save electricity. At the age of nine, I didn't even comprehend the question.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.