Lots of wriggly worms today.

I headed to the riding centre first thing this morning. I think Monday must be their day of rest as there was'nt anyone about. I helped myself to the used stable straw, I filled 8 bags, loaded them in the car, back to Chudleigh, picked up the newspaper & a Danish chocolate twist, a busy morning ahead so thought I might need some sustenance. :-D To the plot, squash/pumpkin/courgette plants on board. I took me awhile to decide where to plant, then got going. The first bed already manured & ready, I planted 4 Ushiki Kuri squash, they will be trained up the wire mesh same as last year. 4 mystery (saved seed from supermarket purchase) squash. I looked up the suggested preparation. I spade depth x 1 spade width, fill with well rotted manure/compost, top with soil, create mound, plant. So that's what I did. I plunged the plastic bottle necks down into the mound, fixed with a bamboo cane, then mulched with the straw collected earlier.I've planted them between 2 rows of fruit bushes, a bit of a squeeze. 2 Turk's Turban squash, & 1 Crown Prince planted next, same preparation. It was warming up, the car park filling up with eager gardeners taking advantage of bank holiday Monday. I stopped for a caffeine fix & Danish. Cut the bottoms off a few more plastic bottles. I dug another 4 planting holes between a row of spuds & more fruit bushes, but it was so warm I called it a day. I love finding worms when I'm digging, it makes me think I must be improving the soil, enriching it with the farmyard manure has got to be good, & it's free. They wriggle & writhe, most too chunky for Bobby robin who watched from the bean canes waiting to grab any tasty morsels for his family. I checked the nest again this morning as I had to go in the shed for bamboo canes. 4 young in the nest :-D I packed up, watered everything once more, then headed home. Made lunch, sat in the garden to eat it, then remembered it was Monday, laundry day, bedding wash, so I stripped the bed, got that laundered, & out on the line, then decided to cut the front lawn, just started then jorgiesmum was driving past, she stopped for a natter. Back to the lawn, plus cutting back the dead iris stems. Next job - splitting the African violets, & re-potting, 6 single plants potted on. Time to prepare dinner Stuffed turkey joint (one i made earlier) from the freezer. Thai pork noodle soup last night, tonight it's a roast. Got that going, made the bed. Cider time. I watched The Chase, then it was time to finish dinner. Washed up, then watered the greenhouse residents, plus some of the pots around the garden.

Thanks to laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday the tag "contains a silent letter"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.