Marionb

By Marionb

Not A Sunrise

I was up early this morning before the sun came up and thought I should take advantage of that and get a blip down at the lake, the operative phrase being "was up". Not "got up". "Getting up" to go find a blip would take forethought and self-discipline. Not my forte.  But if you are already up? Great idea. 

The goal was a sunrise shot; I got some, but not every sunrise is as spectacular as another and they just didn't make the cut today, and with my extras dwindling, it was best that I choose only one. The geese won out over fluffy goslings swimming in a row,  driftwood that looked like a dragon, radiant sunshine glowing on a huge arched branch silhouetted against the water and the morning sky, and a deer crossing my path in the woods. It seems that my blip searches are either feast or famine..Today was the feast. However, no matter what photos I bring home from the marsh, the experience is always worth it. At sunrise on a weekday, I can almost have the place to myself. A peaceful, soothing way to start the day. 

Timing is everything, though. In this pandemic, the park has been inundated with more and more people - too many people. Especially on weekends. I have on some occasions gone down there and turned back when faced with rows and rows of cars overflowing the parking areas. The small preserve just cannot handle that many people and unfortunately some have not been respectful of the place and the park as had to erect "No Trespassing" and "Do Not Litter" signs - not what you expect to find in a nature preserve....I guess that's life in the big city... too  many people and too little natural space. But they are still trying to pave over our wetlands?  Whose idea is that? 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.