Marionb

By Marionb

Sailing Into Summer..

What a beautiful day. Summer was in the air. I had visions of working in the garden planting beautiful things, but I didn't have anything to plant yet, so first I would have to go to the garden centre and pick out my herbs and flowers and maybe even a bird bath....it was going to be a great day. Best laid plans?  The garden centre was packed with other people who had the same idea of how to spend a summer-like day. I am not into crowds these days so I aborted that plan. What about a walk on  the beach or down at the marsh instead? Well, it seems that is another popular summer time thing to do, as the hordes had descended on both conservations areas as well!  Last option? A stroll along the waterfront down at the harbour. There were lots of people there too, but the place is big enough to absorb them all without being cheek to jowl on the paths, so it was worth a try. Success at last. It is only June, but it did seem like a summer's day. Every picnic table was occupied, people were lounging on benches, sunbathing on the beach, strolling along the promenade with dogs, and one brave fellow was out in the harbour windsurfing...sailing his way into summer...I didn't get my gardening done but there will be other days for that...  I did get a taste of summer though, a taste of what is to come...and that lifted my spirits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.