The Sun Goes Down...

..On a most interesting day...

From a hot and humid day yesterday to a cold and grey day today with a thunder and lightning storm thrown in overnight! From swimming and staying out of the "too hot" sun yesterday to digging out a cosy, heavy wool sweater and wool socks tonight... Whew...what a roller coaster ride!

No swimming today, but I did sit on the dock for quite a while..in a hoodie!..with binoculars... stalking (by camera) our resident heron as he strolled along the far shore in search of his lunch..He did a little fishing, and was obviously good at it, as it only took him a couple of tries to catch one! 

I shot 103 photos of him with my Canon pocket camera but alas, that little camera was not cut out for distances like that, especially in dull light..Every last one of my shots was grainy and fuzzy..I was SO disappointed as I wanted that photo of the heron-with-fish for my blip! Oh well...what can you do? 

I really hated to lose the photo entirely and wondered if one of my rarely-used editing apps could save it in some form ...I gave it a try and surprisingly, had a fun time playing with various effects.. and will even use one of them in my 2022 photo yearbook...so all was not lost..(original and edited heron in extras) 

I still didn't have a blip, but was holding off, hoping for a colourful sunset.. and OMG..one magically appeared! There was a huge promising cloud up there in the early evening and as the sun started to go down, it lit it up in yellow, then gold, added in some pink, increased the saturation and there it was! A sunset made to order!  And delivered just in time... 

'It was a fun day ... with all the time in the world to play with photos! 

I do miss having my daughter and son-in-law here though..They left early this morning to get ready for their next adventure bringing their new boat from a lake in the south through a canal system to Georgian Bay and then up here to its new home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.