ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL

It was such a lovely morning, no-one else wanted to go anywhere, Hubby was painting doors, G was drawing graphs and inspired by the Great Photography Challenge last night I decided to go out..  Of course way beyond my abilities and I'm not into portrait or fashion photography but still good to learn things and get inspired.

I headed for Sedbergh along the A590 and then up the M6 for one junction.  The A590 was very busy, especially heading up to The Lakes but that was probably because there were tree cutting etc so the dual carriageway was reduced to one lane on that side.  My side, no problems thank goodness.  The M6 was a little busy for that stretch but not bad.

 I didn't stop in Sedbergh as it looked quite busy but headed along the A684 to Hawes.  Looking for places to pull to take photographs.  Of course all the best places were in areas you couldn't stop, as usual.  However I did manage a couple of places.

I took a couple of photos of Garsdale Viaduct, it has 12 arches, 50 ft high, 227 yards long.  It also known as the  Dandrymire/ Moorcock Viaduct and  is just a few hundred yards from Garsdale Station on the Settle to Carlisle Railway.  I didn't stop at Garsdale Station today but plan to go back sometime as it is still in use of course.   (see collage in extras).


Further on I found a good layby in the Mossdale area and really just stopped to take photos of the stone walls and barns etc along by The River Ure.  Whilst there I could here birds calling obviously warning someone there was a human about.  When I looked I found out they were Oyster Catchers (see extras), which confused me as I thought they were always near the sea, but obviously not here.

I then drove on through Appersett and turn right at Hawes to go along the B6255 and headed to the Ribblehead Viaduct and Ingleton.  Hawes would have been heaving hence I didn't stop, nor did I stop at the Hardraw Force Waterfall for the same reason, but another place to add to my list.

Ribblehead Viaduct was of course heaving and for quite a long stretch afterwards.  Bypassed Ingletlon and headed back home on the A65 but there was a queue to get into the Country Harvest but I remembered a farm shop and cafe further down at Ireby so I decided to see how busy it was.  there were only a couple of people in there and they were geared up for covid safety measure so I bit the bullet and stopped for spot of early lunch.  Delicious - chicken, bacon and new potatoes in a salad, all fresh from the farm.  
It got a little busier whilst there but not too bad and the waitress was on the ball as she stopped a couple of elderly ladies entering without their masks.  They had them in their hands but just forgot to put them on, bless them - so understandable but no problems at all.

After that I just by-passed Kirkby-Lonsdale and headed home.  The traffic wasn't too bad then either so no problems getting home.  Grange was very busy too.

All in all a lovely morning out.  I just now need to pluck up courage to go off walking on my own.  I may take hubby for a walk later in the week but we will see.  

That's all for today, take care, stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.