SETTLE DOWN DEAR

The sun was shining this morning and Hubby wanted me out of the way as he wanted to re-paint the chimney breast, so I decided to go to Settle, North Yorkshire.

The chimney breast - after we'd had the decorating done earlier in the year we both decided that we would prefer the chimney breast to be a shade darker grey than it was as it blended in too well with rest of the walls and we wanted to make the lovely fireplace stand out.  So hubby was eager to get it done.

I wondered where I could go that wouldn't be too heaving, nowhere really but I thought I would give Settle a try.  So duly straight after breakfast I jumped in the car and headed off.

A pleasant drive there, quite liight traffic.  Loads and loads of gypsey caravans, and horses in various places between Kirkby Lonsdale and Settle.  I expect they're resting up ready for their trip to Appleby Horse Fair on 9th June.

I parked up OK and although a few people around it wasn't over busy.  So I popped into The Folly for coffee.  I then walked on through the town, taking  several photos as I went and on down to the bridges.  (one footpath bridge and one road bridge) and then walked along by the river.

Some pleasant scenes along the route but nothing outstanding.  Still a pleasant walk and I only saw a handful of people.  I must have come off the walk too soon as I had intended to go up to the Railway Statioon but I ended up at the back of Booths!!!!!  Still next time I can start the walk from the railway statlon maybe!!

By now the clouds had started to get heavier and the town was getting really busy, so do I stay and have some lunch or do I go home??  I decided to go home as the traffic could have built up as well.

I'm glad I did as the traffic coming back was quite heavy - we kept moving though, even if a bit slow  at times, but still kept moving.

Grange was really busy as I drove through so it was the right decision.

All in all a pleasant morning out and something  left for me to investigate  another day, well plenty of things actually.  I always like to do several trips to places I like finding new areas I haven't explored before.  

The view is from the road bridge looking over the River Ribble and the chimney you can just make out to the left of the photo is, I think, of the Watershed Mill, which I used to visit a lot but haven't been for ages.  

That's me now settled down for the weekend.  Will visit Mum as usual on Sunday, other than that I shall stay in, watch some of the jubilee celebratiosn from the comfiort of my own sofa and do some of the things I keep wanting to catch up on.  Will venture out again next week when everyone  is back at school and work.

Do take care, have fun whatever you are doing over the next few days and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.