Isle Of Wight Day 3 - Bits & Bobs

Tuesday
This trip to the Isle of Wight is actually a ‘working vacation’. Working not for me, but for Alfie the Campervan!  Alfie actually started his life in Japan as a 7-passenger van, and was later imported into the UK as a used vehicle (‘grey import’). He then underwent his transformation into a Campervan on the Isle of Wight at the wonderful place that is called Northstar Conversions. Every now and then I take him back to them for a few adjustments and upgrades.

Alfie is short for (Toyota) Alphard and although Northstar convert lots of different vehicles they do a LOT of Alphards so Alfie got to spend the day with a few of his cousins, who were all in various stages of being converted. See the first Extra photo featuring Adam, who with his wife Carol, own and run the business. I now count them as good friends!  If you look closely you’ll see where today’s title of my blip comes from!  

(There are enough Alphards on the Isle of Wight that some of us call it ‘Alphard Island’).

While they were working on Alfie they gave me a loaner Alphard, so off I went, this time to visit Yarmouth. I’d not been there before but I wanted to visit a particular shop there so that seemed a good way to spend a couple of hours. The weather was better today although I did get rained on right at the end of my outing.

Check out the other two Extra photos - one showing several scenes from the town and the other one scenes around the pier. The ferry is the Yarmouth to Lymington service (The New Forest National Park). I had lunch at The Gossips Cafe overlooking the pier, and finished up with an ice cream which got eaten in the rain!  That’s about right for and English summer’s day!

I went back to pick up Alfie and am happy with the few ‘Bits & Bobs’ that were done!  It was another relaxing evening (dodging the rain) at the campsite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.