Isle Of Wight Day 2 - Driving Tour

Monday
After a stormy night with almost constant wind and rain I woke up to sunshine. So off I went on an early morning walk around the farm and up the hill looking across to Carisbrooke Castle. See first Extra photo. The blue sky and sunshine didn’t last long! The sky soon got dark and I got caught out in more rain. Not a frog in sight, despite the name of the farm. The bottom left picture is my lovely little pitch on the site - I’m parked between the ‘Bollywood’ Campervan and the helicopter (see yesterday’s blip).

The rain lasted all morning and was quite heavy at times. I was warm and cosy in the van but I wondered if I’d get out at all today. Finally it looked like there were going to be long breaks in the rain all afternoon so I decided to take my chances and do a driving tour around part of the island. I drove through Godshill but kept going as it seemed busy and ended up at Shanklin Beach for my first stop. It WASN’T busy. I’ve decided I like bad weather days as I much prefer deserted beaches!

I had made a lunch which I ate in the van overlooking Small Hope Beach. Then I walked along the beach and enjoyed looking at beach huts (see second Extra photo) before turning the other way to see the main beach. I treated myself to an ice cream and coffee, sitting on a beach wall while I ate. There were just a few dog walkers and a couple of family groups out for a walk. I visited Shanklin Chine, a beautiful ravine with views down to the beach. I got caught in a couple of heavy rain showers but I enjoyed the drama of the fast changing sky. The main picture was taken along the Esplanade on Shanklin Beach.

I continued my driving tour, heading west. I made a quick stop in Ventnor - no picture but definitely worth exploring another time. Extremely hilly!! Alfie didn’t like it - or maybe it was just the driver!

I stopped at the Blackgang Viewpoint (see third Extra photo, top left). A beautiful view but I could see I was going to encounter more rain! I pressed on west, driving on the straight and flat Military Road. My next stop was Compton Beach (third Extra, top right). It was chucking it down with rain and the sea was rough. I loved it though! I got out and took a few pictures. There were a few vans there where I stopped. Looked like some surfers but no one was getting in the water.

My last stop was Freshwater Beach (third Extra, bottom 2 pictures). More wind and rain, more dramatic waves. There were a few young guys in the water but no surfboards.

I drove back to the campsite with a black sky and a rainbow to enjoy. No picture as there was nowhere to pull over! It rained all evening and I was glad to be back ‘home’. I made a salad dinner with salmon and enjoyed a relaxing evening, warm and dry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.