Lockdown Day 62 - A Kind Neighbour

We have a neighbourhood WhatsApp Group which a couple of us set up at the beginning of Lockdown as a way to help each other out, especially those self-isolating. It’s been a big success in ways that we didn’t even imagine.

Sometimes when someone is going to Waitrose in the village or getting an online order the others will ask if anyone needs anything. Someone posted that question today and I said yes, please. I needed milk - just to tide me over until my Monday delivery.

I got a text awhile later saying she’d left it on my doorstep. And this is what I found. Not just the milk but also a bouquet of my favourite flowers (which she didn’t know) and a card. She knew I had a challenging week ahead and she showed me some very welcome kindness. I am so very blessed.

In other news - it was a beautiful day and the wind has died down finally. I took down my tent early this morning as we’re supposed to get a couple of cold nights and I want my grass to recover. I’ll return to my favourite Covid-safe campsite soon, I am sure!  

It was a good morning with online church and a church-Zoom gathering afterwards. The rest of the day was spent enjoying my garden. And this evening was spent with some other neighbours in their front garden - I brought my own chair and my own drink and we sat 2m apart. We might have violated the current rule of no gathering of more than 2 people, but otherwise we were being perfectly safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.