Lockdown Day 61 - Perfect Timing!

I had JUST made a cup of tea (in my favourite Dolly & Alice mug!), when Maurice the ice-cream van came ‘singing’ down our road! Yes please! An ice-cream was the perfect pick-me-up. I needed it today!

It’s been sunny and warm but SUPER windy all day - too windy for sitting outside. I had a nice long telephone conversation with a good friend, but then I had another call from one of my 2 part-time lodgers. Both of them are in their permanent homes during lockdown. This one rang to tell me he won’t be coming back as his job is changing completely (less hours), and he won’t need a home away from home. Besides losing the money I’m also sad because he’s such a great lodger. Maybe things will improve again for him and he can come back. I don’t think in this economy I’ll have much chance of filling the room.

On Wednesday we will have the funeral for my friend Rhod who recently passed away. I’ve been asked to give a tribute so I’ve spent most of the day trying to get my thoughts on paper. It’s been very hard going. The service will be a mere 30 minutes and I’ve been given 5. How do I summarise 40 years of friendship into 5 minutes? Very challenging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.