Off To The Isle Of Wight!

Sunday
I was very happy to set off on a trip with Alfie the Campervan today! This is my first camping trip of 2021, first since the easing of lockdown restrictions. The Isle of Wight was my destination and I was booked on a 1230 ferry from Southampton, arriving in East Cowes an hour later. The top left of my collage is the view of West Cowes as the ferry arrived.

I’m staying at my favourite Isle of Wight campsite - The Windmill Campersite in Carisbrooke. I’ve been here two other times - May 2019 & September 2019. The Windmill is a rather wacky glamping site, with a number of different shepherd huts, classic VW campervans, vintage caravans and other vehicles and structures including a double decker bus converted into a kitchen and dining area. There’s even a helicopter to sleep in! The ‘siloflicks’ is a silo turned on its side and made to look like a rocket. There’s a cinema inside. There are also pitches for those arriving in their own campervans or tents.

It was good to be back! They’ve been busy working on the site during lockdown and there are a number of new structures and places to sleep.

I’m here for 3 nights. The weather is not great at all, but I squeezed in a short walk around the site and along the lane in between showers. I got back ‘home’ just in time before the heavens really opened - the heavy rain lasted all evening and into the night. I seem to be a bit of a storm magnet as been in so many storms on my camping trips. In fact, the last time I was here was during storm Humberto. I’m thankful that Alfie is warm and cosy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.