SarioMcK

By SarioMcK

Beach weather

We’ve come to Norfolk for a few days away. We arrived yesterday and we are staying in the annexe to an old water mill. It’s beautiful and the owners who live in the mill have gone away themselves now so have allowed us to use their punt and canoe abs some extra outside space which is awesome! Yesterday my son and I took the punt out but the motor got caught in the weeds and we came across a rather aggressive swan so we headed back. We walked into Norwich and had a wander round but as it was bank holiday nothing much was going on. We ordered some pizza and sat outside til late.

Today I was awake early and heard the dawn chorus at 3.30am! I did eventually get back to sleep fir a few more hours. After breakfast we headed to the coast and a place recommended by our hosts. By the time we got there it was busy at the main parking lot so we had to park in a country lane and walk a bit further: we didn’t mind as it was all through the nature reserve. Lots of birds on the water and marshes. My Dad would have loved it. He would be proud that i recognised most of them including a Lapwing or two. We had our picnic lunch on the dunes at Holkham beach and I dipped my toes in the North Sea! I’ve never been to Norfolk before and I’m not sure why: it’s really lovely. We got back to the mill and my son and I tried out the canoe. He’s very good at steering - lots of lessons from our Canadian relatives - and the swans stayed away this time. It was perfect.

Dinner outside at a local pub rounded off the day.

Stay safe x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.