An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Thistle in the late afternoon sun...

It's the 1st of June!  How did that happen?

I had a very slow start to the day.  Not sure why but my usual morning routine seemed to take ages and I got distracted by gathering bits and bobs to take on holiday next week.

Got downstairs just after 1pm for a quick sandwich lunch.  Alan had already gone out for the day and David headed to Perth.  I reminded him that once I  have my chair I will be able to join him and we can spend hours together browsing in all the interesting shops in Perth.  His facial expression told me he's horrified at the prospect can't wait!  :-)))

Faced with an afternoon to myself, I filled the house with Kate and set about getting paint on to a sketch of sunflowers I did a few weeks ago.  

I had great fun literally throwing water and paint at the paper and watching it do its own thing.  Sunny yellows mixing with bright turquoise, before making sure there was plenty of water in the centres of the sunflowers then tapping some brusho powder pigment onto it and watching the drama unfold as the colour crystals exploded.  

I have no idea how the finished painting will look but I've had fun creating it!

As I left it to dry I turned my attention to another thistle that I'd started but not finished.  A few more glazes of watercolour and some definition to the leaves and it was finished....or was it?  Not quite.  Added some charcoal pencil to define the edges.  Great.  Oh but maybe the addition of some watercolour pencil would be good too?  Okay then.  Gave that a go.  More fun.  Oh just a little bit of white gel pen here and there to add some highlights....there.  Finished.   Hmmmm.....what would happen if it got my spray bottle and sprayed water all over it?  Cue me spraying like a maniac, watching paint, pencil and pen run in all directions.

There!  It's finished now!

It was probably at it's best at the point where I first thought it was done actually I know that to be true as I have a photo of it then :-) but I see this as a great triumph because I have finally learned not to be scared of experimenting, even if I really like a piece and I know that continuing may ruin it.  

This is a huge step forward for me, as I used to be so scared of ruining a painting I would stop before I knew it was finished.  Some kind of paralysis would take over rendering me so fearful of making a wrong move, I couldn't make any move!   I have finally realised if I stuff it up, I can start again :-)

All too soon Kate came to an end, David returned and further prep for our holiday was resumed.  The roof box is now on the car, luggage has been retrieved from the loft, Tesco order is almost complete and I have begun trying to prioritise the places we want to visit and things we want to do while we are away.  

I am so excited about going to an area of Scotland I've never to before and there is so much to see and do in Ross & Cromarty and Sutherland.  Suggestions welcome from any blippers who live in these beautiful areas or have been lucky enough to visit.  We will be driving some of the NC500 and David will definitely be playing golf.  I can't wait to see the sea.  It's been so long!

Better stop thinking about it or I won't be able to get to sleep!  

Yesterday's shenanigans :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.