Alarm square

I had a reason to go to Kalmar on the mainland today, it doesn't happen often these days, I find what I want for my daily needs on my island.

As you see it's a gorgeous summers day here so I had an ice cream at "Ben & Jerrys" to celebrate that and I looked at the sculpture that has been away for renovation during the last year and a bit. It was put here in 1926 and depicts the rather glorified story of how Gustav Vasa landed outside Kalmar, that in those days was occupied by the Danish king, and from there conquered the Danes and became king of Sweden in 1523. The figures on  top of the column are David and Goliath. I guess Kalmar wanted to lift its glorious past with a monument over Kalmars role during times of conflict in a historic past.

The square was called Alarm square because the city guards gathered here before going to their defensive positions on the city wall after an alarm. 
The monument is built where one of Kalmars city well was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.