Boots

I had a marvellous blip-meet today. Heanku, a fellow blipper I've followed for a while, let me know that she and her husband was on a holiday on my island, Öland, for a few days and -could we meet? We had a long fika, coffee and rhubarb pie, while talking about birds, nature and ourselves. She gave me a cutting from her plant, a Colibri-Geranium, one that I once had praised in one of her blips. Blip opens a fascinating amount of doors.

My blip for today is a plant growing outside my front door. Besides of being pretty, I thought it had funny flowers, or fruits, they look like little boots. The plant is called "Vippärt", Lathyrus niger  in latin or 'Black pea' in English. When reading about it for my blip, I learn that it is "near to red-listed' in Sweden, meaning it is under threat of being extinct. Certainly not endangered in my backyard as it seems. Not fully in bloom yet, I'll be back with more pictures when it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.