Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Fun at the florist.

The boy was buying some flowers for the Garden Fairy this morning when I bumped into a friend and her friends. I asked Jenny, on the right, manager of the Blue Bar at Porthtowan, if I might take her photo, no problems. Then I looked at her friends and said, stupidly, “Would you like to make a threesome?” Well gales of laughter and much sniggering from Jenny’s son, aged 14!!! He is a UK and European kick boxer. 

There were some really nice images but this was what I wanted from these hilarious girls, I was clicking away and dropped my one-liner, “OK, after this we will do the nude portraits,” cue huge girly giggle fest. 

A few weeks back I managed to persuade some Grandma’s to let me photograph them, they were delighted with the results. I now have a steady flow of them coming to the door requesting help with ancient black and white or sepia images that are their only remaining photos of loved ones. One lady had only one image of her late husband, passport size, she now has a decent 5 x 7 of him. 

This picture has a lot of significance to the lady concerned. She is with her late brother. They are by the former railway station at St Agnes, waiting to be collected by their father. My first attempts contained so much visual noise I had to do it all again as I was embarrassed to give it to her as it was; on the left. The update is much cleaner and she is happy. Top right of the image is the shunting signal, at stop, there’s an electrical sub-station there now. That’s a window reflection just above his head. 

I now realise, after chatting with her that I know all her extended family, some live two doors away. Amazing what this photo malarky can do. There was a murder in the village two nights ago. I am innocent, I was killing the last remaining slugs. Hardly anything in the garden now and the aphids hate their showers with washing up liquid and water in a spray. I’m not sure what it does to them but they have stopped partying on the Garden Fairy’s roses. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.