The ticking clock... one year on

I think today is my 365th blip. 

What a pleasure it has been, during this strangest of years.

Thanks to all who keep Blip going, and to everyone who's encouraged me with stars, hearts and comments. Special thanks to Viewpoint for suggesting a Blip journal in the first place, a year ago.

I've divided my time, today, between some very enjoyable gardening sessions and an afternoon shift in the local library. The latter was unexpectedly busy, even though we are only hosting pre-booked browsing sessions, and only for very limited numbers. In parallel with that, our click and collect service continues.

Among other visitors, a young woman came to the front desk with two children in tow, asking to join the library and to borrow books to help her continue to learn English.  She patiently explained all this, with the help of her older daughter.  Now that I'm learning Greek, I am reminded of how much determination she must have needed to conduct this exchange.  And I am reminded - again - why libraries matter. Shared public spaces where you don't have to pay to go in... and where it really doesn't matter who you are or where you are from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.