A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Azalea Avenue

Two walks today.

This morning we did a circuit around Goit Stock and back to the village via Leech Lane. It was pleasant but not too hot. 
We took a look at last year’s Blue Tit nest to see if there was any sign of life after hearing of the difficulties they were having this year due to the late spring on Spring Watch. No obvious activity and we’ve seen very few in the garden.
Leech Lane was looking lovely, full of Cow Parlsey and Hawthorne blossom. Back to the village well timed for the opening of The Yorkshire Treat Company and coffee. Becoming regulars!

After lunch I went down to Bingley with my embroideries. The place I usually go to for framing hasn’t done it for 18 months but he kindly redirected me elsewhere. Once sorted I met my friend at the Prince Of Wales park at the top of the town.
I remember from many years ago that there was nice avenue of Azaleas, so we went to take a look. Not as big as I recall but still lovely colours, so my blip for Flower Friday.

We walked down to the canal for a cup of tea, very busy at the Five Rise cafe so we sat in a bench across the canal. We were pleased to be sat in the shade as it was pretty hot by then.
There was a barge a little further along I was fascinated watching as they were hanging their washing out over the railings. When we walked past later they were also selling canal ephemera.
A second walk then along the canal, the 7 cygnets we saw a few weeks ago are now at the ugly duckling stage with scrawny necks but they are at least all still there. 

A lovely start to the weekend. Have a good one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.