Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

Who was more surprised this morning...me or this young fox kit in the garden?  Well, suffice it to say several chipmunks were also quite surprised although none fatally.  This is the same kit that has been showing up on my critter cam at night lately.  He/she seems to be on his own and attempting to hunt.  And while I hope he doesn't get any of our favorite chipmunks, I also hope he survives.  I had left some dried corn out last night for him but a bear showed up at 8:30 and ate it all - so I won't be doing that again as I don't want the bear hanging out!  The bear looked very lean so possible a female with cubs somewhere.  This shot taken from less than 15 feet away while the kit was in the garden and I was on the deck.  

The fox I blipped a few days ago was an adult.  if you look at it's face and contrast it to this one, you can see the difference quite easily.  Also. this one has the build of a teen - see Extra.

Three more shots on Flick if you want to have a peek (Little Wood Satyr butterfly, Wolf Spider, and one more of the fox)  Click HERE

After I finished my radiation treatment this morning, I came home, changed and went for a walk.  Did a little under 2 miles, snapping photos of this and that as I wandered.  Very enjoyable and also good for me.  I can feel the fatigue creeping in again now, but at least I got out and got some exercise.  Not much else to do about the fatigue, really.  Exercise helps and naps are allowed.  

Thunderstorms on the menu this afternoon and then clear skies all weekend.  

Stay calm and carry on.  And I'm sticking with dark choco with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.