Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Thirty One and a Tongue

House Sparrows are my least favorite bird mainly because since being introduced into the US in 1851, they have managed to push aside many of our native cavity nesting birds, sometimes in the most brutal ways.  Our bluebirds were particularly hard-hit by this aggressive species with many verified accounts of house sparrows killing adult and nestling bluebirds and proceeding to build their nest right on top of the corpses.  Ironically, this bird is in decline in several of its native areas.  

Anyhoo, rather than posting an adult bird for my 2021 yard bird visual record, I decided to go for a fledgling because, even though it may grow up to be a mean bird, right now it's very cute.  And then, of course, there's the matter of catching its tongue in the shot!  This little one was sitting in our shadbush and just suddenly opened its beak in what was either a yawn or a stretch.  In either case, I happened to have my finger on the shutter at just the right second to catch this.  

I got to the Cancer Center a little early today and they got me right in meaning that I was done and on my way by just a little past 9:30.  I figured I'd get the grocery shopping done since I was out and picked a good time to be at the market as it wasn't crowded at all.  Some people still masked; everyone moving at their own pace here.

This afternoon, the first wave of fatigue hit me.  Right on schedule since I'm nearing the end of my second week of rads.  Not surprising and also not the first time I've dealt with fatigue.  Still, it's an unpleasant feeling.  I will need to make it a priority to get out and do things rather than succumbing to the lure of the sofa.  Eight sessions done; thirteen to go.

Watching the weather for tomorrow closely and hoping for no thunderstorms.  I'd like to get out and look for some dragons.

Stay calm and carry on!  Today's chocolate recommendation is dark with ginger.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.