Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Saying my goodbyes

I am going to blip the bluebirds today and tomorrow as these will be my last two days with them.  Their brood will fledge when I am in Texas this week and it remains to be seen if I will get a second brood from them or not.  Also, to be fair, I am still getting used to the 500mm lens I've rented so wanting to give it a work out.  I took this shot of Mama (hand held) in the late afternoon when the light was lovely.  She was briefly perched before taking a yummy treat into her nestlings.  And because I can't help myself, do have a look at Extra of Papa having just chased a big blue jay out of the yard.

Hubs and I were up early as he wanted to get an early start to the track and I wanted to see him off.  Once he was safely on the road, Jax and I had a short nap on the sofa.  And then it was time...time to take him for boarding.  I know it's utterly ridiculous, but I hated leaving him there.  Even though he was thrilled to greet everyone and I'm sure he spent the day playing with all his buddies.  I worry that he will be lonely tonight.  And although I definitely needed a day without a puppy, I have missed his shenanigans.  But I really needed the day to run errands, do some cleaning, restock hummingbird feeders and pack.  If all goes according to plan, I'll have time to snag one more bluebird shot before I break the camera down and stash the lens and body in my bag in the morning.  

Meanwhile, hubs checked in from the track.  They are doing the qualification laps now in prep for a 9 hour race tomorrow.  This car has never made it through a race day so it remains to be seen if this will be the "the day".  He said it's overheating which isn't great.  So, we'll see.  It's entirely possible he will be headed back home tomorrow although I certainly hope not.

Dark with ginger, lemon and black pepper today - it's outrageously good (thanks, Mom and Dad).  And watching the final episodes of Frankie and Grace tonight with the cats.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.