Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Peek-a-boo!

Another morning - off to radiology, then a quick check-in with radio oncologist, then home to tend to skin care.  Everyone is happy with how I'm doing - minor burning and skin discoloration to be expected.  So, if they are happy, then so am I.

I had thought to go out for a paddle today but I was feeling a bit tired and then the clouds moved in with a chance of showers  So instead I just enjoyed the activity in our garden.  More baby woodpeckers, a militant catbird attacking a blue jay (who, being a corvid, may have been caught in the act of eating eggs or nestlings - ugh),  a fleeting up close visit from a Great Crested Flycatcher (who was off the moment I touched my camera, natch).  

And, then I spotted her...with her big black button eyes and her jazzy green chelicerae.  I moved closer, she darted into a crack in the window. We did that dance for some time, me with a macro lens and her being camera-shy.  Finally, she crept out and gave me her best smile, seen here.  I am basing the judgement of sex on the slender size of her pedipalps (those short stubby legs on either side of her green "fangs".  


I spent my life being terrified of spiders and I have this species - and several blippers - to thank for getting me on my way to being a recovered arachnaphobe.  It's the eyes and the rather quizzical expression.


Today is MIL's 92nd birthday and we got special permission for all three of us to see her briefly tonight (Hubs, SIL and me).  We are bringing her some fresh cannoli's, a favorite, and a funny card.  I haven't seen her in person since last summer, so very much looking forward to seeing her.  I'll try to pop a photo into Extra later.


Keep calm and carry on, people.  Your choice of chocolate today...


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.