Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Thirty

Yard bird # 30 to be featured in my journal this year, the Eastern Wood Pewee.  This diminutive tyrant flycatcher is more often heard than seen.  In fact, I've been hearing one for several weeks now in the woods, but until today hadn't caught a glimpse of it.  I would not have seen this one had it not been perched on a dead branch of our big old maple, making short sorties out to glean insects in flight.  It was hunting from that branch for a long time, making me wonder how many other times it's been there that I've just not seen it.  

This species always makes me think of Hillyblips.  Several years ago she and I (and her ever-patient Hubs) were on the coast of Texas and spent several enjoyable hours photographing a most accommodating little pewee.  We laughed at the time, saying we didn't know too many other people who would have been so completely happy photographing one rather plain little bird for such a long time.  Well, maybe a couple of people - and you know who you are!

I was a bit early for my radiation this morning, but they were able to take me right in.  Which was good since apparently I get a fresh set of x-rays at the start of each week and today was the day.  Unfortunately, the radiology oncologist was on a long weekend so I won't see her until tomorrow.  But that's fine.  I am pampering my skin with several different recommended products.  And, in perhaps the best news, still no effects whatsoever from the estrogen blocking drug I started yesterday.  Fingers crossed.

I was having such a good time photographing things in the garden today that I decided not to go paddling.  In addition to the Pewee, I also saw the first two fledgling downy woodpeckers, which was really fun.  They are the sweetest, best behaved little creatures (especially in contrast to the starlings!).  They sit nearby and very quietly peep while the parent makes a soft noise that I only hear them make when they have fledglings.  Actually, it was that noise that alerted me to the arrival of the first fledgling today.  Yep, I'm drowning in cuteness.  

I also found a new (for me) jumping spider in the garden - ridiculously small but definitely in the jumper family.  Working on an ID.  For now, just going with "cute".  And if you don't believe me, check out Extra.  And keep in mind that he's about 1/8 of an inch long.  I also saw an ant hauling a dead beetle along the rock wall - that was interesting in a creepy sort of way.  

Keep calm and carry on.  Still on dark chocolate with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.