Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Testing 1-2-3

I arranged to rent a 500 mm lens from lensrentals.com for my upcoming trip to TX and was delighted when it arrived a day earlier than expected.  I immediately put it on the d750 and tried some hand held shots.  Not delighted with them so pulled out the tripod.  Much better.  The lens isn't at all heavy (3.5 pounds) but it is heavier than what I'm used to and my hands just aren't as steady as they once were.  So the tripod comes in very handy.    

I went for the easiest subject in the yard at the moment - the bluebirds.  Mama and Papa are brining food into the nest roughly every 5 minutes.  Papa is also vigorously chasing away certain birds.  He has a particular vendetta against blue jays which I can kind of understand since, like all corvidae, they are omnivores (which means their diet includes meat - you can do the math from here).  He also goes after the red-bellied woodpeckers sometimes which makes no sense at all.  Frankly, I think he may just be cranky.  I caught a funny shot of one of the blue jays hiding in at the tree after being dive-bombed numerous times by a pissed off bluebird - see Extra.

Talked to the mechanic who has my car and he confirmed that it's the starter.  And of course, there is a delay in getting the part so it won't be back until sometime next week.  Good that we rented the car.  It's a Nissan something or other - nice ride but rather non-descript in appearance.  I lost it in the parking lot when I went for groceries - that was fun.

I had planned to take uber to the airport on Saturday (since Hubs will be at the racetrack).  When I went on the app to make arrangements I was informed that they don't service my area - WHAT???  Happily, my SIL isn't working that day and has agreed to take me to Newark.  She'll be staying at our house for several days to look after the cats and get a break from her current living arrangement.  So, win-win.

The day went from sunny and nice to scattered thunderstorms.  Good time to be inside.  

Oh, and in Jax news - we discovered yesterday that despite his extreme aversion to rain and puddles, he loves chasing the water from a hose.  he ended up soaking wet and tongue dragging.  I believe we've found a new enrichment activity for our boy.

A new dark today - with ginger and pepper.  It's fantastic!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.