Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oy!

This pretty much sums up my feelings today.  It's been insanely hot since early this morning so Jax didn't want to walk (and neither did I, frankly).  But he still needs to burn off puppy energy so I've gone round and round trying to keep him entertained.  Not very successfully, I might add.  He only wanted to be out on the deck for very brief periods so my chances for photography were few and far between.  

Never the less, I spotted two chipmunks in the cherry tree next to the deck, both studiously ignoring the other.  They spend a fair amount of time in the cherries this time of year looking for the tart little fruit the trees produce.  I caught this one grooming, which almost always yields some fun pics, today being no exception.

The shot I missed was when I Cedar Waxwing flew into the shadbush to check on the status of the berries - not yet to his liking, but I suspect he'll be back with friends.  

I discovered that the male House Wren has managed to attract a second female and they were seen working on a box just outside our dining room window this morning.  Meanwhile, wife #1 is still on eggs.  The males really don't help out much although they do stop by occasionally to feed the babies.  Always surprising to me that the female wrens consistently lay (and fledge) 6-7 eggs, almost single handedly.  

I had a friend take me over to the car rental this afternoon to pick up a car since both of ours are out of commission.  It's a comfy enough ride and will take care of our needs until one of cars is back up and running.  Need to call the mechanic tomorrow to see if he can be persuaded to speed things up on my car.  Hubs leaves Friday morning for the race track and I leave Saturday for Texas, so...

All right - the dog is throwing his ball at me so I need to provide some entertainment.  

And there will most assuredly be something dark later.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.