Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Take-out

Well, I wasn't going to post another ode today but then along came this handsome damselfly with a fresh snack...and my fate was sealed.  Because he had prey, he wasn't quite so quick to fly as I stalked him in the garden, allowing me to get some decent shots.  I am not quite sure what the prey insect is - maybe some kind of leafhopper?  I am also not totally sure on my ID of this damsel - I believe it's a Fragile Forktail but there is a chance it could be an Eastern Forktail.  I'm leaning towards the former because the last couple of abdominal segments don't show any of the blue that eastern fork tail male would have.  Both are extremely small, measuring only about an inch in length.  I will put a head-view in Extra.

It's warm today - 80F/26.6C and not a cloud to be seen.  Not ideal for photography because of the very harsh light.  So instead I am reading up on the Z8 even though I don't expect to see mine until mid to late June.  Still fun reading about all the things it can do especially in the area of AF.  Very eager to get my hands on it.  

Jax is on edge today, barking at every little thing, real or imagined.  I wonder if we might have had a bear around last night that he can smell, or maybe the foxes have been around.  Or maybe Jax is just being a not-quite-two-year-old dog!

I'm having some lovely dark chocolate with orange today.  It's particularly good.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.