Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ebony

This is one of our most glamorous damselflies, the Ebony Jewelwing.  Every year at about this time, they show up in the vegetation at the edge of our woods.  Because they are an ideal size to feed baby birds, they are extremely skittish and therefore somewhat hard to photograph.  After spooking one several times this morning, I finally found one in a good spot and spent my time sneaking slowly up on it.  Took this with 300 mm and a small crop.  The females lack the iridescent green/blue body and are slightly smaller.

I spent several hours this morning on my Costa Rica images.  I have updated all of my eBird sightings reports now with images which was a big job.  I am continuing to post some of my favorite shots on Instagram.

When we met our friends for dinner last night, we hadn't factored in the fact that it was 1) a holiday and 2) Monday - so nothing was open!  But our friends quickly offered up dinner at their house, cobbled together from some leftover meatballs and some quick-sauce from their pantry (last summer's tomatoes).  We sat out on their deck while the sun settled on the horizon and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.  A really fun evening.

While I was working on my photos this morning (on the deck) Jax was content to sleep on his elevated bed in the shade - it's a dog's life.

Haven't decided on today's dark.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.