Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Breath...

I have to remind myself to do this - to breath - sometimes.  A byproduct of depression is periods of what I think of as hypersensitivity to the world around me.  Sometimes I almost feel like I can't quite catch my breath.  I've had that feeling recently - it's a compilation of everything that is happening in the world (at large and my own) at the moment.  Knowing what's causing it gives me some comfort.  And being able to get out and connect with nature really helps.  Today has been one of those day.  

What is on my mind right now, heavily, is the knowledge that the world is not an "equal" place for many people.  In some respects I've led a sheltered life - I grew up in a household that welcomed all colors with parents who taught me - through words and example - that you don't look down on someone just because they are different than you.  I've never been hungry or homeless or unloved.  I've had friends of different colors, faiths and sexual orientations.  But I've never truly experienced what it is like to be a person of color in a white society.  

Like most sane people, I am horrified and saddened by what I see happening in my country, and across the globe, right now.  I can't help but think back to the Rodney King beating (29 years ago?) and wonder why so little has changed?  Why are so many people so filled with hatred?  Why do some people look at others and view them as "less than"?  Why are some compelled to tear down rather than lifting up?  My heart feels heavy right now; I feel restless; can't quite catch my breath...

Thanks for letting me ramble.  I'm okay, really.  Just feeling unsettled.  Happily, some friends are stopping over tonight for socially distant wine and conversation.  We have our adirondack chairs spaced out on the patio and the other couple is bringing their own wine and glasses.  I can't wait to see them both and my only regret is that there won't be any hugs.  There will, however, be a lot of smart conversation about politics, religion, race, climate change and other topics of shared interest.  

Be safe.  Be kind.  Be loving.

xo
Debbi

The photo today is a close up of the female Eastern Bluebird who was watching me from atop the nest box.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.