Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Life

Unlike last year when I had three species of birds occupying four nest boxes, this year I’ve just got my little go-getter house wren and his two lady wrens. Both laid clutches of 6 eggs about a week apart with this box hatching last Sunday (best estimate).

As you can see, they are getting some feathers and their eyes are open. Mom was scolding me from a nearby branch as I stuck my phone in the box to snap a shot. House wren nests are usually impossible to check other than by blind photo. Their nests are made of sticks and are quite deep.

I didn’t sleep well last night so went back to bed for a while after breakfast. Then took the kayak out for a short paddle which was really enjoyable. Back here where Hubs was trying to lure a catbird out of our garage. That took a few hours but he finally left. (The catbird, not Hubs)

I’m now experiencing the afternoon surge of fatigue. Irritating but not much to be done about it. I just need to make sure I get out in the mornings when I have some energy.

Our internet is down for no reason we can discern. Hopefully it will return by this evening.

If you have a chance, do check out my blip from yesterday when I was visited by a fox kit. An abundance of cuteness!

Dark with nuts today,

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.