Dragonfly

Nice to see my first dragonfly visit the pond, my friend V tells me it's a broad-bodied chaser and looking it up on the net the blue suggests it's a male. The main photo is it on a photinia red robin shrub and I've added an extra of it sitting on my kingfisher ornament. A glorious day, full sun this afternoon and, for me, a perfect temp of 17C.

Good to see the G7 do a deal on making multinational companies pay an appropriate amount of tax through a global minimum corporate tax rate and companies paying tax in the countries where they do business. It's not just tech companies moving their profits to low tax countries, lots of companies do it and it's plain unfair. It's also essential in paying for the covid costs. 

Day 446 / Day 20 of Step 3 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
40m have now had at least 1 dose of a vaccine in the UK. Before making a decision on 14th June about easing on 21st, the Govt is reported to be 'drawing up other options'. My reading is that they need longer to be sure that increased cases don't lead to increased hospitalisations that could lead to problems, the difference from waves 1 & 2 being the vaccination programme. Initial data from Bolton suggests the link between infection and hospitalisation has largely been broken by vaccination per the CEx of NHS Providers. I suspect they also want more people fully vaccinated. Whilst France remains on the UK Amber list, France itself is happy to accept British tourists that are fully vaccinated from Wed and have proof of a negative test - but self isolation on return for 10 days still applies and the UK Govt says don't travel there for tourism. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.