Platinum Jubilee - Day 4

Wow, what a fantastic Platinum Party at the Palace that was last night with a spectacular light and drone show. In particular I loved the performances by Queen with Adam Lambert, Diversity, Alicia Keys, the musicals, Elbow and Andrea Boticelli, but in my opinion there's no doubt that the Queen herself stole the show with the sketch with Paddington! Whoever organised it deserves such praise.

This morning I walked into town to get a paper after heavy rain overnight, then I went to a little exhibition of old photos of Holt. I thought I'd take some photos of the jubilee decorations in shop windows I've not already blipped for a collage, including of my own bunting. 

This afternoon I've recorded the Jubilee Pageant as I'm watching the French Open final, which Rafa Nadal has just won in straight sets for an incredible 14th French Open title (the closest after him at one tournament is Margaret Court with 11 Australian Open titles). It also takes him to 22 grand slam titles in total, 2 ahead of Roger and Novak, but equal with Steffi Graf, 1 behind Serena Williams and 2 behind Margaret Court. What an astonishing player, with great anticipation, the best competitor I've seen, and completely dominant on clay. I wonder if he'll now retire given his achievements, his age and his ongoing injury problems. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.