Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Muuuu uuuum!

This young dunnock made such a row in the garden this afternoon that I went inside for a while. Normally I love our dunnocks, they sit on top of the apple tree and sing their tuneful hearts out. This one sat on the fence and made a piercing single note cry about every 10 seconds. I rather think it's a youngster and been let loose on the world by its parents, it still has some fluffy grey feathers around its tail end.
I started the day with a run out to West Linton to visit the market where blipper Nadinepierce had a stall for her Pentland Aromatics. Apparently I just missed thechimp and thebear too or we could have had an impromptu blip meet! The last time we all met up was in January 2020. What a lot has happened since then. Today, the sun was shining and there was a lovely cheery atmosphere. I came home with some poker work hearts and a piece of cake. No candles from Nadine this time but I've got some ideas for next time I want some. (see extra)
While in West Linton I popped into the Old Toll Tearoom again. It's clearly well used by the local people but I managed to get a seat in the sun and relaxed with my Kindle, a cup of tea and a bacon roll.
Back home I did a little work in the garden then relaxed on my lounger, I'm not really a garden chair person, I like to sprawl. I was driven inside by the dunnock and made the most of the time by changing the sheets. Cleo was most appreciative and slept on the bed for the rest of the day. Watched episode 2 of the Pact, I didn't recognise Ade Edmondson, he'll always be Vyvyan to me though!
Got a bit of a fright this evening when an elderly neighbour's burglar alarm was going off but we couldn't rouse her. We decided to use my keys and another neighbour and I went in. I'd been trying to contact her son by phone and failing, then, firstly, he phoned me back then she walked out of the kitchen. She'd decided on an early night and couldn't hear the alarm from inside the house. All's well that ends well. She was pleased that we'd bothered to investigate. I was just relieved she was OK and glad I had had a key.

Keep safe and well everybody, is it wrong to start thinking we are getting there? The numbers in Davidson's Mains are a third of what they were last weekend, so that's good news, the primary school is reopening on Monday too.
I've been faithfully doing my two lateral flow tests each week. I did another tonight and am pleased to say that it was negative. You can pick them up at testing centres around the town in packs of seven, or send off for them to come by post, free of charge. Easy and sensible - nobody's ever accused me of being sensible before, :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.