Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Chatsworth House

Today we had a really early start (very difficult on a Sunday morning) and headed to Chatsworth House. The journey there was horrible with closed roads and speed cameras everywhere! I felt really miserable as I'd been wanting to go there for ages but it was pouring with rain and the forecast was horrible. I know I shouldn't complain after such fantastic weather in London but I felt disappointed.
On arrival, we donned our waterproofs and headed inside. The house was lovely and there was loads to see. I'm not sure about all the naked bodies all over the ceilings but I appreciated the more modern art and the fossils as well as the attention to detail from the staff.
While we were in the house, it had stopped raining so after a lovely carvery we headed out to explore the gardens, or some of them at least as they are huge!
After visiting Kew on Tuesday I didn't expect the gardens to be as good but they were better. I suppose they have had a few centuries advantage to establish them better and there was something to see everywhere and some stunning floral displays. We couldn't go in the greenhouses but that didn't matter. If you haven't been yet, go! I loved it and the shop in the stables is lovely too. I'm definitely going to return, probably when the house is decorated for Christmas.
We learnt our lesson from earlier and took a different route home that was much better and quicker. All in all, I've had a lovely half term holiday. Only 6 weeks until summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.