Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 78 Attingham revisited

Today we managed to return to our beloved Attingham as the National Trust reopened some of their gardens this week. I booked the tickets just after midnight last Friday morning and it sounds like they were snapped up really quickly so I was lucky to get them. The carpark was nearly empty when we got there and there were many changes in place such as a one way system, only one person was allowed in the toilets at any time and you had to show your tickets while still in your car. I couldn't believe how quiet it was and I think they could have quadrupled the number of people that were allowed in and it would still be safe because it's such a huge place. We went all the way around the outside and were there for nearly 2 hours. We managed to avoid the rain as the forecast was sunshine and showers. It was interesting to see that the deer have become more confident with wandering all over the fields as they have not had people trampling all over their home for so many weeks.
In the morning I had been on the bike and just after lunch I made a banana loaf which unfortunately wasn't as nice as my first attempt a couple of weeks ago.
In the news, 204 deaths and there were anti racism marches all over the country following on from George Floyd's death in America. It was great to see so many people supporting the cause but worrying to see them all in close proximity to each other.

Update: I've just seen a photo taken of the Shrewsbury gathering that shows clear social distancing. This is not apparent in other photos that I've seen so I'm sure that most people who attended will have followed the guidelines in place and I know that most were wearing masks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.