Iconic London

Sir Christopher Wren
Said, "I am going to dine with some men.
If anyone calls
Say I am designing St. Paul's."

by E C Bentley, 1905

Edmund Clerihew Bentley devised this humorous 4-line verse form, rhyming AABB, but with an irregular rhythm. Line one is the name of the short poem's subject, while the other three lines offer a mini biography of the subject. The verse form is called a 'clerihew' after the poet, and this is one of his most famous examples.

Meanwhile, 'iconic' has joined 'journey' in our house as an occasional drinking game - at weekends, often with a real glass of wine; on week nights, raising a virtual glass, during any and every documentary that draws on these overused words. So, raise your glasses please when I say, "My photographic journey today threw up this iconic image of London."

Cheers!
Bottoms up!

I passed St Paul's en route to the Tate Modern gallery. For the first time, I joined two consecutive guided tours. Usually, I just wander and enjoy, but it was interesting to hear some background to the art and artists. Emerged to a return of snow, though the sun has since reappeared.

Now we look forward to our son and daughter-in-law joining us for dinner tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.