whose eggs are these?

I know who these eggs belong to, as I surprised the spotted flycatcher who laid them in our greenhouse. It's a favourite spot for them, year after year, and I have enjoyed photographing and blipping several broods in summers gone by.

An interesting fact about spotted flycatchers is that they also recognise these eggs as being their own...which is important because it means that they are not usually caught out by cuckoos. Apparently, a lot of birds can't tell the difference between their own eggs and those of the cuckoo, so they end up rearing the cuckoo chicks to the detriment of their own young.

Spotted flycatchers are on the Red list in the UK, their numbers having declined severely over the past 25 years, so I am always pleased to see them returning to our garden. I'll let you know when these eggs hatch.

I was at work today and then did the supermarket shop (1st one since before I went away 2 weeks ago!). I also managed a walk when I got home. My feet are tired now, though, so it's time to put them up and have a wee rest :-)

Today's walk: Stepford Round 3.71 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.