The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Spanish Springs Regatta

What a quandary. This morning I drove out to Spanish Springs for the purpose of getting a shot of the bell tower. I got the shot, and a good one at that, but I also got several others that demanded my attention and begged me to choose them for today's blip - "pick me, pick me, oooh oooh oooh, pick me Please!

Ultimately I made my choice based on future availability. The bell tower will be there the next time I'm in the town square, but the RC model boat club won't necessarily be sailing the course on the pond.

It was enjoyable to watch. Each "captain" controls the rudder of his/her boat by remote control but power is provided by the wind and the techniques of the race are very lifelike as they time their run up to the starting buoy and sail the course. Very competitive too. While I was watching one competitor voiced a challenge saying another boat had illegally interfered with his progress to the first turn. All in all very interesting.

Today is a bit of a milestone for me and I won't really be able to refer to myself as middle aged anymore. I turn 65 today, with a Medicare card and everything, so I'm now officially a government approved senior citizen.

....and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.