Travelling north west…

We drove 240km today ( only doing short days so we can relax and enjoy the journey). No day is without some small drama, this morning the indicator light wouldn’t flash. Fixed after some jiggling and checking the bulb hadn’t blown. Then we got a stone chip on the windscreen. It will have to be replaced. I decided to stay at the RV paddock next to the caravan park as it’s half the cost, but it is very dusty and has burrs. 

But the good news is they have good facilities and I got some washing done and they cook fish and chips for tired travellers each night. There was enough food for at least four people. We found a Woolworths to stock up on milk and other essentials and tomorrow will explore. And the internet is better. Anything more than none ( last night ) is better I guess.

I haven’t been to Emerald before. They mine gems around here including sapphires in Sapphire which is up the road. I assumed that they mined Emeralds here but I am wrong. They mine coal. Apparently the name came from the colour of the grass after rain. I’ll report more tomorrow when I find out what happens in this part of the world.

It was quite hot when we arrived here but the southern states are cold including a good snow fall at home. 

Today we saw more cute kangaroos, emus, eagles and cattle. There are a few dogs in the caravan park. One kangaroo tried to look in our caravan then went next door to see if they would share breakfast. Much of the trip from Carnarvon was flat but at Springsure there were high Rocky Mountains, they looked like they may have been volcanic. I’ll have to investigate as they had a different look to the Carnarvon ranges. My blipfriend Ferna used to live there so she might know more about the Minerva Hills

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.