Wollemi

Still catching up - back blipping on 10th June

When wandering around the garden today, I noticed these odd round, spiky protuberances on the ends of some of the branches of the Wollemi pine.  On checking Wiki, I see that these are the female cones - the tree also has some of the brown male ones.  It's a bit young to be engaging in reproductive behaviour - we only planted it out in autumn 2017.  It is growing, slowly.  I hope the presence of these cones are an indication that it is happy, and not a "last gasp" attempt at reproduction before it dies!  As far as I know, there are no other Wollemi nearby, and I'm not sure whether it can (or should) "self-fertilize".  Since it is planted at the edge of the meadow, I fear that, should it produce any seedlings, they are likely to be swamped by the surrounding vegetation, and cut down in the autumn when we mow.

I made a concerted effort in the studio today, and finished all the ornaments for the advent calendars - now just to sew on 48 buttons to hang them on the trees!  And in the evening, I finished the hooking on the rug - but I need to bind the ends and sides.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.