Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Hippy Days

I was always into music and as a teenager in the sixties I was a bit of a hippy.  I modelled my look on a cross between Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull and Roy Wood of The Move but in reality, on pocket money and thirty bob a week for a Saturday job, I was a bit limited.  I loved all the psychedelic music of the time so when, twenty years ago, I found myself in San Francisco one of the places I had to see was the Haight-Ashbury area, the birthplace of the Hippy Movement.  I hadn’t realised before going that my visit coincided with the 24th Annual Haight-Ashbury Street Fair so there was plenty to see and do, and I noticed when looking at the souvenir poster from the event that I bought that it was actually 20 years ago today.

I had a search through my old photos and managed to find a couple from the day that I took; a rather larger than life character who reminded me a little of Wavy Gravy as he was in the 60’s, and the sign on the street corner where it all began.  I’ve added them in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.