Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dragons and things

I left radiation and went straight to meet two friends at a wetlands area for a walk.  We meandered several miles, tallied 29 bird species and at least that many insects.  I have added a couple of new (to me) insects to my list and was very tempted to blip a very interesting botfly, but I defaulted to the very common female Blue Dasher.  Why?  Because it's a pretty shot and she's a very pretty dragon with her metallic blue nose.  Sometimes it's just about what pleases me.  

The botfly would definitely have been my second choice because it's the first time I've ever seen one, and because it took me a bit of time to come up with and ID for it.  If you have a minute, I've posted it HERE on Flickr - take note of the red spots on the eyes!

Saw a nice assortment of other dragons including one I've not yet identified, and a nice bunch of butterflies. And an entertaining Lady Beetle Pupa who was doing handstands.

Although it was overcast and pleasant when we set out, it soon became hot and humid.  By the time we were done, I needed to get home and take a cool shower and apply an assortment of rash stuff to my poor skin.  And then a nap broke out.  I am feeling fine now, and only 8 days of radiation left!!

Hubs and I are taking the RV out this weekend for a quick getaway so I will blip early tomorrow probably.  

Stay well and join me in something chocolate if you'd like.  I'm going with dark and nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.