Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just Jax

After the superb photography in Texas this week, I was feeling a bit uninspired with my backyard birds today.  So, I put the macro lens on and wandered around the garden.  I got some sub-par images of long-legged flies - nope.  Then I rescued a fishfly and a damselfly from spider webs.  I usually let nature take it's course but exceptions can be made.  In the case of the fishfly it bit me while I was de-webbing its wings - just a tiny nip and I was expecting it.  The damselfly was much more polite, letting me pull the web from her wings while she sat on my hand.  Images of both in Extra.

Still not feeling like I had "the" shot, I turned my macro on Jax.  I liked this image a lot because I think he has the most beautiful eyes - and here you can see our neighbor's house reflected in his eye.  Anyway, it's my pick for today.  

It was nice to sleep in my own bed, next to Hubs last night.  I finished unpacking this morning, washed all the dirty clothes and put everything away.  Packed up the 500 mm lens and sent it back to the company I rented it from (parting is such sweet sorrow).  

The resident male House Wren has a second nest going with 6 eggs.  I have to check the first box and make sure those babies are still okay - there are 6 in that box too.  And he's still singing from various other boxes on our property so he could potentially attract yet another female.  I wonder if he's the same male who nested here last summer - that little guy sired 5 broods.  

Well, I think a nap may be on the agenda.  Jax is snoozing on the sofa so I may just join him...

The dark today will have lemon, ginger and black pepper

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.