Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Hairy Day

This day did not go at all according to plan.  But on the bright side, this is the first Hairy Woodpecker I've seen in our yard since our resident pair were both killed by a hawk 3 years ago.  They are nearly identical in appearance to the more common Downy Woodpecker, except larger and with a longer beak.  This one is a female and she's in very good condition so I'm thinking she's at the beginning of her nesting cycle or perhaps even a hatch-year bird.  In any event, she was trying to work up her courage to fly to the suet feeder, obviously attracted by all the other birds.  Here's hoping she sticks around.  

My 14th radiation treatment this morning, leaving only 7 to go.  Thank goodness.  I think today was my worst day, mostly from an emotional perspective.  I found myself feeling completely overwhelmed by everything and after a phone call with Hubs, we decided to cancel our plans to go away for the weekend.  I felt like I was really struggling to pull all the little details together.  So, we will wait until I am done with this little chapter and then plan a trip when we can enjoy it.  It really irritates me not to be able to function at what I consider to be my "normal" capacity.  And yes, I realize that I'm being unrealistic.  

Anyway, cooler temps today so I spent some enjoyable and therapeutic time in the hide.  And also took a nap which seems to be essential right now.  Hope to take the kayak out this weekend.

I've put three other pics on Flickr starting HERE .  First two are rather comical and the third is just a sweet baby woodpecker (awwwww).  

I'm doing dark with dried raspberries today (and it's delicious).  

Keep safe.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.