Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Abstract - Change

Something a little different today and only the second or third time I've ever joined the Abstract Thursday challenge.  I will give you a few minutes to guess what this is and how it relates to change.

Meanwhile...rain showers (heavy at times) were the order of the day which kept me close to home and very "sinusy".  That didn't stop me from spending a few hours outside under our deck canopy watching the avian and rodent population.  The sounds of the little bluebirds being fed can easily be heard from 25 feet away now - they peep so lustily when the parents arrive with food.  A broad assortment of goodies were presented today, including a full sized common whitetail dragonfly!  I didn't get out to check the wren boxes as both involve walking through vegetation and I didn't feel in the mood to get my feet soaked.  Tomorrow I'll check both and try for phone shots of all three.  

The chipmunks and squirrels continue to be little eating machines.  In the case of the chippies, they are also doing a lot of chipping and fighting, somethings rolling around on the ground in little striped balls of fury.  The squirrels tend to be less volatile but more intent on food.  I actually have a couple of feeders that are pretty squirrel proof so it's kind of funny watching them try and try and try before scampering off.

In other rodent news, Hubs found one more mouse in the humane trap in the RV today but said this one was bigger (and #7 for those keeping count from home.)  Ah ha!  That would probably mean that the six previously caught were younger and this may have been mama mouse.  We remain hopeful that we will prevail in the Man against Mouse Crusade.

Okay, back to today's image... This is Tom.  I was sitting on the back steps and he came to within 20 feet of me, making these soft little clucking noises while he scarfed up the dried corn I had left for him.  I cropped the image to his mid-section which shows the change in his plumage.  I think it looks almost like bark or shingles.  I'll pop the uncropped image in Extra which also shows part of his "beard".  I must say that I love having him around even if he does sometimes scare the beejesus out of me when he loudly gobbles.  Big Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting!

Tomorrow is Friday ... which just feels like another day in a long string of surreal days.  

Stay safe out there. Be kind. Be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.