Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Downloading...

I hadn't even been downstairs 10 minutes when I heard a big commotion out at the suet feeder - the sound of hungry starling fledglings.  And, if you've never heard a family of young starlings begging, you've missed a truly appalling symphony!  Even though I used my best stealth moves to slip outside, they all spooked and flew.  But I knew they'd be back, so I got my cup of tea and settled in for a wait.  To be rewarded about 30 minutes later when all five kids showed up with a beleaguered mum in tow. Thoroughly entertaining, even though I'm not generally a big starling fan.  I posted a sequence on Facebook that will make you laugh - click HERE

I also saw two cardinal fledglings - my first sighting this year.  They were feeding themselves so I expect they fledged a week or so ago.  Cute as buttons.  Stay tuned to this space...

And, the boldest of the "three amigo" blue jays finally took a peanut from my hand today.  I wish there was a way to video it because it's quite funny to see - he grabs the peanut and departs in a great flap of wings.  

In other news - did cardio at the gym, joined Hubs to take MIL to another doctor's appointment (always a full-body experience) and had a nice visit with my friend Barbara who lives a few miles away on a lovely organic farm.  She has a bunch of new baby chickens that are just adorable.  Came home with fresh asparagus and eggs - yum!

Happy Tuesday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.