Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Not the eclipse

I remembered about the eclipse this morning and even went the opposite way around my route so that I would see it, and so, proudly blipped, here is.... not the eclipse. Think I must have got the time wrong, ah well. Nice bird shot I'm sure you'll agree.
It was lovely and warm all day today so at 10.30 I got stuck in to finishing off laying the weed fabric and bark in the unaccessible areas under and behind the dwarf lilac and the tree peony. My crawling under low bushes is getting really good, not so my turning round in confined spaces though. Still, four hours later it was done. The weed fabric and bark is laid, ten 90l bags since last week. Hopefully it will help to cut down on weeding in difficult places.
I also cut back the buddleia, the flowering currant and the tree peony in the front garden, all looks much tidier and you can actually get through the side gate now.... unless you are an otter, hopefully, as I've put a block against the gate so it won't be able to get underneath it any longer.
I awarded myself a cup of coffee and a stretch out on the sun lounger after that lot.
I was leading evening prayer this evening as the general synod is on so all the clergy are tied to their Zoom meeting. I'm glad I don't have to be there. I've arranged for two companies to come out next week and give estimates for painting our church hall, it's looking decidedly dowdy at the moment.
Prawn curry for dinner was rather delicious, we have a bit of a competition to see how many veg we can get into a curry or stirfry, we're pretty creative.
It was still over 20°at 7pm this evening. I do enjoy these temperatures. Watched the penultimate episode of the Pact this evening. There seem to be an awful lot of flash backs and reliving relevant moments in the plot, but we've enjoyed it.
Keep safe everybody, two weeks of school term left then it's the summer hols. Can't believe that I is off to school in August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.